top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Waves by Diana Farid (RB Media) 3.5 Stars

Publication date UK format 29/3/22 audio time 3h 30m book 320 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


A coming-of-age novel in verse set in 1980s Southern California, about a Persian American girl who rides the waves, falls, and finds her way back to the shore Thirteen-year-old Ava loves to surf and to sing. Singing and reading Rumi poems settle her mild OCD, and catching waves with her best friend, Phoenix, lets her fit in—her olive skin looks tan, not foreign. But then Ava has to spend the summer before ninth grade volunteering at the hospital, to follow in her single mother’s footsteps to become a doctor. And when Phoenix’s past lymphoma surges back, not even surfing, singing, or poetry can keep them afloat, threatening Ava’s hold on the one place and the one person that make her feel like she belongs. With ocean-like rhythm and lyricism, Wave is about a girl who rides the waves, tumbles, and finds her way back to the shore.


My Review


This was a great and rather uniquely written story. I actually rated it 3.5 stars. I was very intrigued by reading this book as it brought me an altogether new style of writing with rather short chapters. It almost has a poetic effect but wrote more like a prose. It tells the story of a Persian family. This book was aimed at ages 10 to 14 yrs but because of its unique approach to the story. I am unsure if that age group would appreciate the story and meaning behind it. Unfortunately my 10 year old wasn't around for me to test this theory on.

As an adult I appreciated its approach and style. I listened to the audiobook which was read by the author. I loved her voice and time of her voice although the breaks were a little long for an audiobook which slowed down the pace a little. It was definitely a layed back slow pace book. It would make an excellent book to listened to before bed to relax you. Because of the books unique style I am still yet to decide whether I loved this book. I find myself in uncharted waters and need to do as Switzerland does and sit on the fence with this book. I would definitely like to sample more of this authors writing to fully make up my mind on this.

Many thanks to the author and publishers for bringing this rather unique style of story into the lives of a different culture.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US k $12.98, audible, HC $15.99



Waterstones HC £13.99



Google books ebook £12.88



B&N HC $18.99 N $15.56



Kobo ebook £8.59, audiobook £8.36



Amazon UK K £10.82, AUDIBLE, HC £11.39


All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book.

HAPPY READING


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page