top of page
  • Ladyreading365

Weasels In The Attic by Hiroko Oyamada (Granta Publishers) 4 stars

Publication date UK format 3/11/22 book 96 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review. all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


From the acclaimed author of The Hole and The Factory, a thrilling and mysterious work that explores fertility, masculinity, and marriage in contemporary Japan. In these three interconnected stories, Hiroko Oyamada revisits the same set of characters at different junctures in their lives. In the back room of a pet fish store full of rare and exotic fish, old friends discuss dried shrimp and a strange new relationship. A couple who recently moved into a rustic home in the mountains discovers an unsettling solution to their weasel infestation. And a dinner party during a blizzard leads to a night in a room filled with aquariums and unpleasant dreams. Like Oyamada’s previous novels, Weasels in the Attic sets its sights on the overlooked aspects of contemporary Japanese society, and does so with a surreal sensibility that is entirely her own.


My Review


This was a great short story. That I really enjoyed reading. Well short stories in a short book. I loved how it included information about tropical fish which is something I have read a story where the fish are almost the central feature of the book. It was a great cultural book that I finished in one sitting. I love reading books by Japanese authors as they are so different and this one e didn't disappoint. I loved how strange the stories were it certainly got me thinking. It was well wrote and flowed so well at a medium pace. The characters were interesting. I recommend reading this book if you love Japanese stories and like a break from your normal reading to try something different.

Many thanks to the author and publishers for creating this enjoyable read. It certainly entertained me.



Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $9.99, HC $11.39 PB $9.62



Waterstones HC £12.99



GOOGLE Books £ EB 6.02



B&N PB $13.95, EB $11.49



Kobo EB £6.99



Amazon UK K £6.02 HC £9.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING


1 view0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page