top of page
  • Ladyreading365

What I Want To Talk About by Pete Wharmby (Jessica Kingsley Publishers) 5 stars

Publication date UK fomat 21/9/22 book 220 pages


I would like to thank the author, publishers and Netgalley for allowing me to pick this to read and review all my reviews are honest.




Synopsis


This book isn't a memoir. It is a love letter to the phenomenon of autistic hyperfixation.' In What I Want to Talk About popular autism advocate Pete Wharmby takes readers on a journey through his special interests, illuminating the challenges of autistic experience along the way. Funny, revealing, celebratory and powerful in equal measure, this is a book that will resonate with many, and which should be required reading for anyone who wants to understand autism with more accuracy and empathy.


My Review


Wow this was such a brilliant book. It was just what I needed to read. I was diagnosed with autism 9 months ago and despite going on a course to understand it. I knew nothing about why I am the way I am and this book helped me so much. This book was exactly what I needed. I just loved the way the author wrote this book. He states it doesn't cover the who disorder but just how he is affected. It was just brilliant and helped me understand some of the things I do like my obsession with books it just takes over my mind. He explained everything so well and was easy to understand why we ate the way we are. I just hope many people read this book. If only to discover why we have these obsessions. I always wondered why I needed to learn about everything. I especially found it interesting learning about autism burnout and how it's different from normal burnout. Yep currently there but at least I know now. I definitely recommend this book if you are autistic or know or work with someone who is.

Only the highest of praise goes out to the author and publishers for bringing us his story so that others can understand how difficult it is to live with this condition.


Where you can buy this book


Amazon US K $10.36, AUIBLE, PB $19.95



Waterstones PB £13.99



Google Books ebook £9.51



B&N PB $19.95, EBOOK $13.49, AUDIOBOOK $29.31



Kobo audiobook £21.99



Amazon UK K £9.51, AUDIBLE, PB £13.99



All prices are subject to change at any time. Please remember to review all books you finish reading so others can find these amazing books. All reviews help just remember not to tell people what the book is about as everyone has already read the synopsis. Just include what you liked and felt when reading the book. HAPPY READING

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page